Markthalle IX

IMG_2321

Yesterday I was almost in paradise. I love food festivals where you can eat from lots of different stands lots of different food. Therefore my husband and I go to the Prague Food Festival every year in May. Every time I am looking forward to the next one, so I can eat from all those Michelin star cooks from around the whole Czech Republic. But it is just once a year… so you can imagine how happy I was when I read in the newspapers that Berlin has now three food markets which became very popular. One of them is in Marthalle IX in Kreuzberg and they have one stand with great pulled pork sandwiches. So I said to myself that we have to go there one day. I would love to meet the people and eat their pulled pork.

In Markthalle IX, they have lots of events going on. For example, on every Thursday from 5 to 10 p.m. they have Street Food Thursday, every third Sunday in a month they have Breakfast Market. This weekend we decided to visit our friends in Berlin. Our kids were at their grandparents until Sunday. So my husband and I could enjoy some time together. I said that it would be great if we visited this street food market with our Berlin friends. So my husband started to search when they are open and which events are going on. And he said that this Street food is just on Thursday and Saturday there is nothing. And just every third Sunday in a month there is a Breakfast Market. So I was a little bit sad because I thought that it is still something like the beginning of January 😀 I usually don’t have any idea which date is it (I am a stay-at-home mom… therefore) and then we opened a calender and counted the Sundays and luckily for me… it was the third one 😀 I was soooo happy. First thing when we came to our friends was that I told them about this new thing in Berlin and that we MUST go there because I have to show them… and they were like “Oh yeah, we know. We’ve already been there…” 😀 Okay, so not surprised but at least they knew how we can get there.

I came inside of this beautiful old hall and the first stand where I went (probably my heart was leading me) was a stand with some buns filled with meat and egg… and then I started to talk to the woman behind the counter and suddenly it was clear that the newspaper article was about her and that I am standing in front of the pulled pork stand. We ordered one sandwich with BBQ sauce, something like a poached egg (but in an eggshell), bacon, and salad. It was so good… I can tell you. To bring you the people and their work closer, have a look at this YouTube video about them.

Here are some photos showing how our breakfast sandwich was created.

IMG_2327 IMG_2329 IMG_2330 IMG_2336 IMG_2337 IMG_2338IMG_2340 IMG_2341

It was so good. When you took the first two bites, the poached egg opened and it spread on the meat and the bun. And the combination of egg, bacon, meat, and salad was perfect for a late breakfast (it was already 12 noon). I made pulled pork already once by myself but it was not perfect. I was baking it so long and still it was not totally getting apart. And because I had it yesterday in Berlin, I felt like I have to try to make it again. So, today we bought meat from the pork shoulder and I tried a new way… I found some recipes on YouTube and I like this style of “fast food”. Instead of baking it for 4-6 hours in the oven on low temperature, I cooked it 2 hours in the pressure cooker. And I have to say, it turned out great. It was so soft and getting apart by every touch. I will post the recipe soon. Here is a photo of my pulled pork sandwich with coleslaw salad, pickles, bean sprouts, and homemade BBQ sauce. Delicious 🙂

IMG_2494

Now, back to Markthalle IX: The pulled pork stand was not the only one. There was a colorful mixture of different cuisines from several countries. Everything what we tasted was really great, mostly from local and organic products.

IMG_2325IMG_2342 IMG_2343 IMG_2345 IMG_2346 IMG_2347 IMG_2348 IMG_2349IMG_2350 IMG_2351 IMG_2353 IMG_2356 IMG_2359 IMG_2360 IMG_2361 IMG_2362 IMG_2363IMG_2364 IMG_2365 IMG_2366 IMG_2367 IMG_2368 IMG_2369 IMG_2370 IMG_2371 IMG_2373 IMG_2374 IMG_2378 IMG_2379 IMG_2380 IMG_2382 tapas

IMG_2384 New York style bagels

IMG_2386 dumplings IMG_2387 IMG_2390 grass for drinking  IMG_2392 IMG_2393 IMG_2394 IMG_2396 IMG_2397 IMG_2398

IMG_2401

We already visited Portugal twice and are totally in love with Pastel de nata. So when we saw a stand here which was selling them, we were so happy and bought 10 pieces. They packed it in a nice box for us. So we had something for the grandparents as a thank you for taking care of our girls 🙂

IMG_2403 hot chocolate from cocoa beans IMG_2404 IMG_2405 IMG_2406 IMG_2407 IMG_2408 IMG_2410 IMG_2411 IMG_2412 IMG_2414 IMG_2416 IMG_2418 IMG_2419 IMG_2420 IMG_2422 IMG_2424 IMG_2426 IMG_2434 IMG_2436IMG_2441 IMG_2435 IMG_2437 IMG_2438 IMG_2439 IMG_2442 IMG_2443 IMG_2446

To conclude… if you are in Berlin and by coincidence it is the third Sunday in a month, then go for a nice breakfast to Kreuzberg in Markthalle Neun and enjoy 🙂

This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

